• Meg Miller

Chasing Magical Reads


School days are ending and we’re all gearing up for Summer fun. This is the perfect time to go chasing magical adventures and magical reads. The excitement of traveling during summer vacations only gets better with a story to enjoy while relaxing or to make travel time fly by. And don't forget travel books to help you plan your trips

For those of us who work at public libraries summer time is one of our busiest seasons. We love seeing all of those summer reading participants and being the go to place for stocking up on vacation reads. Whether you plan to pack an extra bag full of physical books or are looking to load up your device with ebooks I have some suggestions.

For the adult readers

Astrophysics for people in a hurry from our favorite astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson is a slim volume that packs in a solid amount of science knowledge, history and theory. I can highly recommend the audio version of this title which is just under four hours listening time and read by the author.


Stranger in the woods by Michael Finkel, tells the true story of a man who spent decades alone in the Maine woods living out of a tent. Vacations take us aware from the daily grind for a time but in 1986 Christopher Knight chose to walk away from everything.

American war the debut novel by journalist Omar El Akkad for those who prefer something more dystopian. Set less than 100 years in our future, after a second American civil war and devastating plague, where familiar coastlines have been lost to global warming.

Come sundown is Nora Roberts’ newest release, bringing readers into the lives of the Bodine/Longbow family at their western Montana ranch and family run resort. In addition to the always well written romance this book has the added dimension of suspense with a Room-esque storyline.

For readers of Young Adult fiction (not just teens)

The book jumper by Mechthild Gläser offers mystery and magic. When Amy Lennox visits the Scottish island of Stormsay she learns a secret family skill that any reader will be envious of. Exploring her new ability to jump into the books she’s always loved she learns about some disturbing happenings in the book world and their connection to the island’s inhabitants.


Roar is first in Cora Carmack’s new Stormheart series. No sleeping beauty, this Princess Aurora has to find her own magic to face the storms. The book will be available on June 13, 2017 but I snagged an ARC (advanced reader copy) by waiting over an hour at the Tor Teen booth on the last day of the Texas Library Association conference. It was definitely worth the effort and I look forward to more in this series.